District Museum Pribram
Mining muzeum at Brezove Hory
H. Klicky Place No 293
261 02 Pribram VI
|April - October
||Tu - Su
||9am - 5pm
|November - March
||Tu - Fr
||9am - 4pm
The museum is situated in the area of the Sevcin Shaft, built in 1813 on
the site of a 16th century mining pit. Our museum offers a rich history of the Pribram
region through its expositions of original mining objects.
In the exposition called "Traditional Crafts and Industry in the
Pribram region," visitors can become familiar with the economic, social and cultural
development from the Middle Ages up to the 20th century. The exposition "From the
History Mining in the Pribram region " is in the next building, the so-called
Counting-house, from 1880. It shows local activity from the 10th century up to the present
time. Local mining of silver deposits and the extraction of uranium after 1948 are
documented here. The museum gathers a number of relics from the history of Pribram mining.
Another permanent exhibition called "Development of Vertical Mining Transport in the Pribram region " is
installed in the Sevcin Shaft. Here visitors can see the orifice shaft with the cage
actually used by miners. Because of its historical and architectural value, the Shaft was
chosen for the list of technical sites for the UNESCO. The 1928 mining compressor used for
domestic production can be seen in the next Machine-Room.
The exposition inside the fourth building attracts many
visitors because there are unique mineralogical and geological samples from Pribram silver
ore and uranium mines. The Museum recently opened the "Anna " Mine's
Machine-Room containing a steam engine (1914) which operated the lift and mechanics of the
Visitors can also see the miner's cottage with an exposition documenting
life of a family at Brezove Hory at the turn of this century. There is also an exhibition
of local toys and puppets.